search
top

Hop Market Situation: Hop Harvest 2016

Hops are a natural product. We all know that. But it would still be nice, and most of all helpful, if hops (in particular the one we’re on the hunt for) were always available. Unfortunately that’s not how it works and 2015 in particular proved that you must always be prepared for a bad crop. After the meagre crop in Europe in 2015, merchants’ warehouses were completely emptied and their reserves used up. The climatic conditions (extreme dryness) also had an effect on the content of the compounds in the hops. The bitter compound and oil content of the hop varieties were far below average and that led to a shortage in the alpha market (i.e. there was a lack of alpha acid, which is needed worldwide).

Difficult start, late hope

The situation in the hop market is as exciting as ever. The strong dependency on the weather keeps all market participants, such as growers, merchants and breweries, in a constant state of tension.

2016 was cool to start with, but thanks to very good growing conditions featuring warm days with heavy rainfall in July and August, the hops grew very well and developed a high number of cones.

In Europe, the harvest finally resulted in a long-awaited, above-average crop yield. The rain in summer was sorely needed, as hops require lots of water to develop cones and create enough alpha acid. 2016 also proved how great an influence the weather has on hops. While the early-harvest hop varieties such as Hallertauer Tradition and Mittelfrüh can be picked as early as the end of August / beginning of September, the September heat created problems for the late-harvest varieties. The bitter varieties in particular have experienced yield losses due to the low precipitation and temperatures sometimes reaching over 30°C. Over this crop year there were three successive weeks with no rainfall, which made the hops susceptible to disease. Together with the reduction of bitter varieties in the USA, which is due to the demand for flavour varieties, this led to a deficit in the supply of bitter hops on the world market. Consequently, bitter hops saw an increase in price that was unexpected by the industry. Here you can see that prices in both purchasing and sales can change very suddenly in a very volatile market. Many brewers waiting for better prices miss the right moment to buy, and then only buy when there is a supply bottleneck in sought-after varieties.

 

Germany, once the largest hop producer in the world, can look back on a very good crop. Acreage was increased by 4% from 17,847 ha to 18,599 ha. All in all, the crop this year was very impressive, with an increase of 33.7% compared to the previous year. In Germany, 42,766 t of hops were harvested across all growing regions.

In the USA, acreage was massively increased but new plantings were predominantly flavour hops. Acreage with bitter hops, like Columbus, Zeus and Tomahawk was cleared and replanted with flavour varieties such as Citra, Cascade and Simcoe. Several acres of young flavour hops were also added. As such, acreage was increased from 18,478 ha to 21,458 ha. The USA has thus risen to become the world’s largest producer of hops for the very first time. However, since much of the expansion consisted of areas of young hops and because hops only produce their full yield in the second year, the production volume at 40,789 t was still slightly lower than in Germany. So this could change next year.

Despite the above-average crop yield and massive increase in acreage in the USA and Europe, the demand for hops was only just met. It was not possible to add to the stocks from past crop years and now everyone is eagerly awaiting the 2017 crop.

 

Outlook 2017

In the southern hemisphere, for example in Australia, this year’s hops have already been harvested. As hops are mainly grown in the northern hemisphere, only modest quantities of hops from the south appear on the market. There, the yield has remained average despite a similarly sizeable increase in acreage. The contracts for sought-after varieties, like the Galaxy and Enigma, could only just be fulfilled, so that there is once again no available spot volume.

Acreage has once again been increased in the USA and Europe, which is a reason to hope for good volume, at least of flavour hops.

In Europe, this year also started out very cold and the hops were slightly behind in their development. But they caught up and are developing normally. In particular, the increase in warm days and the low precipitation associated with it are causing problems for the hops.

As you can see: it’s still very exciting and everybody is hoping for a good crop.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

2 Responses to “Hop Market Situation: Hop Harvest 2016”

  1. Lauren says:

    Hi there all, here every one is sharing such know-how, thus it’s nice to read this
    website, and I used to pay a quick visit this web site all the time.

  2. Ria Hughlett says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

top

search
top

Was man über den Hopfenmarkt wissen sollte

Hopfen ist ein Naturprodukt. Ja, das wissen wir alle. Aber trotzdem wäre es schön und vor allem hilfreich, wenn  Hopfen (und zwar genau die Sorten, die gerade gefragt sind) immer verfügbar wäre. Leider geht das nicht und vor allem das Jahr 2015 hat uns gezeigt, dass man immer mit einer schlechten Ernte rechnen muss. Nach einer spärlichen Ernte in Europa im Jahr 2015 wurden die Lagerhallen der Händler weitestgehend geleert und die Reserven aufgebraucht. Die klimatischen Bedingungen (starke Trockenheit) wirkten sich vor allem aber auch auf den Gehalt der Inhaltsstoffe im Hopfen aus. Die Bitterstoff- und Ölgehalte der Hopfensorten fielen stark unterdurchschnittlich aus und das führte zu einer Knappheit im Alphamarkt (das heißt es fehlte an der Menge an Alphasäure, die weltweit benötigt wird).

Schwieriger Start mit später Hoffnung

Die Situation im Hopfenmarkt ist wie immer spannend. Die starke Abhängigkeit vom Klima versetzt alle Marktteilnehmer, wie Pflanzer, Händler und Brauereien in eine stetige Anspannung.

Das Jahr 2016 startete kühl, jedoch konnte der Hopfen durch sehr gute Wachstumsbedingungen mit warmen Tagen bei hohen Niederschlagsmengen im Juli und August sehr gut wachsen und einen hohen Stand an Dolden ausbilden.

In Europa wurde endlich wieder eine langersehnte, überdurchschnittliche Ernte eingefahren. Da Hopfen sehr viel Wasser benötigt, um die Dolden auszubilden und auch ausreichend Alphasäure zu erzeugen, war der Regen im Sommer bitter nötig. Aber auch 2016 zeigte, wie viel Einfluss das Wetter auf den Hopfen hat. Während Ende August Anfang September die frühen Hopfensorten, wie Hallertauer Tradition und Mittelfrüh, mit besten Erträgen bereits gepflückt werden konnten, machte die im September aufkommende Hitze den späten Sorten zu schaffen. Insbesondere bei den Bittersorten haben die niederschlagsarmen und teilweise über 30°C warmen Tage zu Ertragseinbußen geführt. Während der Ernte gab es drei aufeinanderfolgende Wochen ohne Niederschläge, was den Hopfen empfindlich auch gegenüber Krankheiten machte. Zusammen mit dem Rückgang an Bittersorten in den USA, welcher der Nachfrage an Flavour Sorten geschuldet ist, führte dies zu einer Unterversorgung an Bitterhopfen am Weltmarkt. Damit verbunden ist auch eine von der Branche unerwartete Preissteigerung für Bitterhopfen aufgetreten. Hier kann man sehen, dass in dem sehr volatilen Markt die Preise im Ein- und Verkauf sehr schnell umschlagen können. Viele Brauer wollen auf bessere Preise warten und verpassen dadurch den richtigen Moment einzukaufen, weil sie erst dann kaufen, wenn es zu Lieferengpässen in gefragten Sorten kommt.

 

Deutschland, einst größter Hopfenerzeuger der Welt, kann auf eine sehr gute Ernte zurückblicken. Es wurden die Flächen um 4 % von 17.847 ha auf 18.599 ha erweitert. Die Ernte fiel mit einer Mehrmenge von 33,7 % im Vergleich zum Vorjahr insgesamt sehr stattlich aus. In Deutschland wurden in allen Anbaugebieten zusammen 42.766 t Hopfen geerntet.

In den USA wurden massiv die Flächen ausgeweitet, aber vor allem Flavourhopfen eingelegt. Flächen mit Bitterhopfen, wie Columbus, Zeus und Tomahawk wurden gerodet und mit Flavoursorten, wie Citra, Cascade und Simcoe neubepflanzt. Zusätzlich kamen einige Jungflächen mit Flavourhopfen hinzu. So wurden die Flächen von 18.478 ha auf 21.458 ha ausgeweitet. Zum ersten Mal ist damit die USA zum größten Hopfenproduzenten der Welt aufgestiegen. Da aber das Wachstum auf viele Jungflächen beruht und Hopfen erst im zweiten Jahr einen Vollertrag bringt fiel die Ernte mengenmäßig mit 40.789 t noch etwas geringer als in Deutschland aus. Dies könnte sich im nächsten Jahr dann ändern.

Trotz der überdurchschnittlichen Ernte und massiver Flächenausweitung in den USA und auch Europa, konnte die Nachfrage nach Hopfen gerademal befriedigend erfüllt werden. Es konnten keine neuen Lagerbestände aufgebaut werden und nun schauen wieder alle gespannt auf das Erntejahr 2017.

 

Ausblick 2017

In der südlichen Hemisphäre, wie zum Beispiel in Australien, ist der Hopfen für dieses Jahr bereits eingeholt. Da der Hopfen hauptsächlich auf der Nordhalbkugel angebaut wird, kommen nur überschaubare Mengen an Hopfen aus dem Süden auf den Markt. Dort ist trotz ebenfalls ansehnlicher Flächenerweiterung der Ertrag durchschnittlich geblieben. Insbesondere bei den sehr gefragten Sorten, wie Galaxy und Enigma konnten gerade die Verträge beliefert werden, so dass wieder keine Freimengen verfügbar sind.

In den USA und Europa wurden erneut die Flächen erweitert, was Hoffnung geben kann auf eine gute Verfügbarkeit zumindest bei den Flavourhopfen.

Auch dieses Jahr startete Europa aber wieder sehr kalt und der Hopfen lag in der Entwicklung etwas zurück. Jedoch holte der Hopfen auf und entwickelt sich normal. Insbesondere die vermehrte auftretenden Warmtage und damit verbunden die niedrigen Niederschläge machen dem Hopfen jedoch zu schaffen.

Wie man sieht: es bleibt weiter spannend und alle hoffen auf eine gute Ernte!

 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Einen Kommentar schreiben

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

top