search
top

Sustainability and its management

Wertschöpfungskette BARTH-HAAS

SUSTAINABILITY – In industry, this term has rapidly grown in importance in recent years and is already ever-present today. In conversations with customers and other stakeholders, sooner or later this question arises: “And what about sustainability?” And it’s not all that easy to answer either, because sustainability is highly complex. It’s not simply a question of environmental protection and waste reduction – and certainly not one of isolated measures. It’s a question of systemic relationships. In other words, it’s a very wide-ranging issue, but at least we already have the basic principle of sustainability more or less in our genes. As a family-run company, you see, we have always been used to orientating our decisions to the question of what implications they have for the next generation. The genes alone are not enough, however, and that’s why we want to show you now exactly how we approach and practise sustainability.

STRATEGY

For implementation to succeed, there first has to be a suitable strategy, and in our case that consists of several key components.

Handlungsfelder unseres Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements
I

Strategic intention

No strategy without a goal – and therefore it is necessary first to formulate what we want to achieve with our sustainability strategy.

I

Materiality

In order to know where to begin, we have to identify the issues that are of the greatest importance for us and for all our stakeholders.

I

Areas of activity

Once we have our strategic goal and know what issues are of central importance, it is possible to precisely determine our specific action fields.

I

Managementsystems

For the implementation we then need to make the right choice of tools and processes with which the issues can be addressed and documented.

TEAM

For the implementation process itself, there have to be specific responsibilities. We have set up a sustainability team, as that is essential to promote sustainability within the company. On the one hand, it means that there is somebody there to take on projects concerning sustainability, and on the other, this has created a contact point that everybody in the company can go to if they have ideas or questions to do with the question of sustainability.

Our sustainability team meets at regular intervals to work on the projects and the reporting. What is important here is that all the departments in the company are represented in the sustainability team. This is the only way to ensure that the idea of sustainability is implemented throughout the company and that the data are collected. Our team consists of representatives of the Executive Board, Quality Management, Purchasing, Sales, Marketing, Controlling, Technology and Research.

Unser NH-Team
Organigramm

Our company organisation chart also shows the high priority we attach to sustainability. There is always at least one sustainability representative from the Executive Board – the Chief Sustainability Officer (CSO) – and one sustainability officer from each department (SO) in the team.

%

Increase in share of rail transport

Pesticide residue analysis

Hours of training per employee and year

PROJECTS

Together, we in the sustainability team and all the other employees have been able to complete a number of projects that have had a positive influence on our company’s environmental, economic and social impact. A very important part of this is the stakeholder dialogue between all the internal and external stakeholders who are in any way affected by our company’s activities. Our sustainability reporting plays a key role in this dialogue. In our current project “From the road to the rails”, we have been able to increase the proportion of transport by rail compared to transport by truck from 10% to 46%. In our processing plants, by installing a heat recovery system we have been able to reduce the annual oil consumption of the two plants connected to it by up to 89%. As a member of a working group, we are actively supporting Hopfenring in the further development of the “Sustainability in Hop Growing” system. In terms of social involvement, we are sponsoring special projects and encouraging personal involvement among our employees in particular. A very topical success story is our involvement in a pilot project called “Sustainable value chain” organised by the Bavarian Environment Ministry, for which only 10 companies in all of Bavaria have been approved. The next major project that we plan to tackle is the expansion of our sustainability report to encompass the entire BARTH-HAAS GROUP. This means expanding our data gathering to a global scale and reporting in accordance with the latest GRI standards.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Sustainability Report 2015/16

You can access our most recent sustainability report with all the information and additional details via interactive links to the sustainability site on our website.

Sustainability site

You can find all the details about our sustainability management and lots of examples of implementation on the sustainability site on our website.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

top

search
top

Die Nachhaltigkeit & ihr Management

Wertschöpfungskette BARTH-HAAS

NACHHALTIGKEIT- in der Wirtschaft hat dieser Begriff die letzten Jahre über einen rasanten Bedeutungszuwachs bekommen und heute ist er bereits omnipräsent. Früher oder später heißt es im Dialog mit Kunden und anderen Stakeholdern immer: „Und wie siehts da mit der Nachhaltigkeit aus?“ Und dabei ist das gar nicht so einfach zu beantworten, denn Nachhaltigkeit ist sehr komplex. Es geht dabei nicht einfach nur um Umweltschutz und Müllvermeidung und vor allem auch nicht um punktuelle Leistungen, sondern um systemische Zusammenhänge. Ein sehr umfangreiches Thema also, aber wir haben immerhin das Grundprinzip der Nachhaltigkeit praktisch schon in den Genen. Denn als familiengeführtes Unternehmen sind wir es seit jeher gewohnt, unsere Entscheidungen auch danach auszurichten, welche Voraussetzungen wir damit der nächsten Generation hinterlassen. Die Gene alleine reichen aber nicht und darum zeigen wir euch heute, wie wir das Thema konkret angehen und umsetzen!

STRATEGIE

Vor jeder guten Umsetzung steht eine passende Strategie und die besteht bei uns aus vielen wichtigen Komponenten.

Handlungsfelder unseres Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements
I

Strategische Absicht

Ohne Ziel keine Strategie – deshalb musste erstmal formuliert werden, was wir mit der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie erreichen wollen

I

Wesentlichkeit

Um wissen zu können, wo anzusetzen ist,  mussten die Themen ermittelt werden, die für uns und alle unsere Stakeholder die meiste Bedeutung haben.

I

Handlungsfelder

Mit dem strategischen Ziel und dem Wissen, welche Themen wesentlich sind, ließen sich unsere konkreten Handlungsfelder exakt ableiten.

I

Managementsysteme

Zur Umsetzung bedarf es dann noch der richtigen Auswahl an Instrumenten und Prozessen, mit denen die Themen bearbeitet und dokumentiert werden können.

TEAM

Für eine konkrete Umsetzung braucht es konkrete Zuständigkeiten. Wir haben ein Nachhaltigkeitsteam (NH-Team) eingerichtet, das essentiell war, um Nachhaltigkeit im Unternehmen voranzutreiben. Zum einen gibt es dadurch jemanden, der Projekte zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit angeht und zum anderen entstand dadurch für alle im Unternehmen eine Anlaufstelle, an die sie sich mit Ideen und Fragestellungen zum Thema der Nachhaltigkeit wenden können.

In regelmäßigen Treffen arbeitet unser NH-Team an den Projekten und der Berichterstattung. Wichtig dabei ist, dass Vertreter aller Unternehmensbereiche und Abteilungen im NH-Team sind. Nur so kann die Implementierung des Nachhaltigkeitsgedankens in der Firma und die Datenerhebung sichergestellt werden. Unser Team besteht aus Vertretern von Geschäftsleitung, Qualitätsmanagement, Einkauf, Verkauf, Marketing, Controlling sowie Technik und Forschung.

Unser NH-Team
Organigramm

Auch unser Firmenorganigramm zeigt, welch hohen Stellenwert die Nachhaltigkeit für uns einnimmt. Es gehört immer mindestens ein Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragter der Geschäftsleitung (NH-L) zum Team, genauso wie Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragte jeder einzelnen Abteilung (NH-B).

%

Steigerung des Anteils der Bahntransporte

Pflanzenschutz- rückstands- analysen

Stunden Weiterbildung pro Mitarbeiter und Jahr

PROJEKTE

Gemeinsam haben wir im NH-Team und mit allen Mitarbeitern zahlreiche Projekte umsetzen können, welche die ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Auswirkungen unseres Unternehmens positiv beeinflusst haben. Ganz wichtig ist dabei der Stakeholder-Dialog, also der Austausch mit allen internen und externen Anspruchsgruppen, die durch unsere Unternehmenstätigkeit in irgendeiner Weise beeinflusst werden. Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung spielt dabei eine zentrale Rolle. Im laufenden Projekt „Von der Straße auf die Schiene“ konnten wir den Anteil unserer Bahntransporte im Vergleich zu den Lkw-Transporten um 10% auf 46% steigern. In den Verarbeitungswerken konnte durch die Einführung einer Wärmerückgewinnungsanlage der jährliche Ölverbrauch der beiden angeschlossenen Anlagen um bis zu 89% reduziert werden. Als Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe unterstützen wir den Hopfenring e.V. bei der Weiterentwicklung des Systems „Nachhaltigkeit im Hopfenanbau“ aktiv. Auch im gesellschaftlichen und sozialen Bereich fördern wir spezielle Projekte und vor allem das persönliche Engagement unserer Mitarbeiter. Ein ganz aktueller Erfolg ist unsere Teilnahme am Pilotprojekt „Nachhaltige Lieferkette“ vom Bayerischen Umweltministerium, zu dem nur 10 Betriebe aus ganz Bayern zugelassen wurden. Das nächste große Projekt, das wir angehen werden, ist die Erweiterung unseres Nachhaltigkeitsberichtes auf die ganze BARTH-HAAS GROUP. Das bedeutet eine globale Ausdehnung der Datenerhebung und Berichterstattung nach den aktuellsten GRI-Standards.

MEHR INFOS

NH-Bericht 2015/16

Hol dir unseren aktuellsten NH-Bericht mit allen Infos und weiteren Details über interaktive Links zum Nachhaltigkeitsbereich unserer Website.

Nachhaltigkeitsseite

Finde alle ausführlichen Informationen über unser NH-Management und viele Umsetzungsbeispiele im Nachhaltigkeitsbereich unserer Website.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Einen Kommentar schreiben

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

top