search
top
Currently Browsing: Analytics

(Deutsch) BARTH-HAAS GRANT – Das Hopfen-Stipendium heute und morgen

Sorry, this entry is only available in... read more

The Phenomenon of the Swollen Pellet Foils

Every now and then – luckily very rarely – one can see big aluminum foils filled with hop pellets that are so swollen that one expects the foils to burst at any second. And that could actually happen with the result that the foil pulls in air and the oxygen will spoil the hops. How does this happen?   The main culprit can be quickly identified: heat! It is known that hops don’t like heat (at least... read more

Whole Cone Hops vs. Pellets vs. Extract

First off let’s look at a table where one can see the different yields from the brewhouse into finished beer of different hop products. These yields are based on the resulting amount of bittering compounds (iso-alpha acids) in beer in relationship to the amount of dosed alpha-acids of the hops when brewing beer. One thing is certain; there isn’t any other topic that is so controversially discussed as hop... read more

The bitter truth about bitterness units

Determining the EBC bitterness units in beer is, in itself, very simple: the absorption value of the beer is simply multiplied by 50. The 50 is an empirical value which means that 5/7 of the bitterness comes from the iso-alpha acids, the remainder from other substances. This is often correct for beers in the range of 15-35 bitterness units, but unfortunately not always, because several factors can... read more

top

search
top
Jetzt sehen Sie durch:Analytics

Das Phänomen der aufgeblähten Pelletfolie

Ab und zu – zum Glück recht selten – sieht man große Aluminiumfolien, mit Hopfenpellets befüllt und derart aufgebläht, dass man ein Zerplatzen in der nächsten Sekunde erwartet. Und das könnte tatsächlich passieren, mit der Folge, dass die Folie Luft zieht und der Sauerstoff den Hopfen verderben lässt. Aber woran liegt das? Der Hauptschuldige als solcher ist schnell identifiziert: Hitze! Bekanntlich mag... mehr

Dolden vs. Pellets vs. Extrakt

Ganz allgemein zuerst einmal eine Tabelle, in der man die unterschiedlichen Ausbeuten vom Sudhaus bis ins fertige Bier der einzelnen Produkte sehen kann. Diese Ausbeuten beziehen sich auf die resultierende Menge an Bitterstoffen (Iso-alpha Säuren) im Bier, im Verhältnis zur Menge der dosierten Alpha-Säuren des Hopfens. Eines ist gewiss, es wird über kaum ein Thema beim Bierbrauen so kontrovers diskutiert,... mehr

Bittere Einsichten zu Bittereinheiten

An und für sich ist die Bestimmung der EBC-Bittereinheiten im Bier ganz einfach: Der Absorptionswert der Bierlösung wird einfach mit 50 multipliziert. Dabei ist die 50 ein empirischer Wert, der besagt, dass 5/7 der Bittere von der Iso-Säure kommt, der Rest von anderen Substanzen. Das trifft für Biere in einem Bereich von 15 bis 35 Bittereinheiten oft zu, aber leider nicht immer. Denn mehrere Parameter... mehr

top